The Woman in Black

Harry Potter accidentally uses his wand hand to open his front gate

Widowed and depressed lawyer Arthur (Daniel Radcliffe) is sent to a remote village to sort out the paperwork in a deceased woman’s crumbling old manor house. There, instead of supermarket coupons and catalogues full of velour comfortwear (this is vaguely Edwardian in setting) he discovers ghostly and malevolent goings-on, not to mention ominous violin music accompanying every step he takes.

The letters he finds point to some ugly family history, but he can’t get any information from the villagers, who are eager for him to leave as soon as possible.

This old-fashioned chiller is mildly suspenseful but doesn’t deliver too many jump-out-of-your-seat moments, and is a bit slow and unoriginal at times. It does represent one of Radcliffe’s better acting turns, though he’s hampered by the fact that even Arthur doesn’t seem very scared. 6/10

Released May 17, 2012

4 thoughts on “The Woman in Black

  1. I’m interested and having not seen any Harry Potter films (saving that for when my boys are of the age) I’ve got no bias for or against Mr Radcliffe.

  2. Hey Mercifully Short Reviews,

    I actually just started a movie review blog myself last week and “woman in black” happened to be the first movie I reviewed, and I also gave it a 6, lol

    Anyways I wondered it you could take a look at my blog and give me some feedback, it’s pretty basic right now but I’d love to hear from a fellow blogger.

    http://rorschachreviews.com/2012/06/09/53/

    thanks!

  3. The British television 1989 adaptation of the book scared the bejesus out of me – truly unsettling, felt nervous about sleeping on my back for years afterwards – and I can’t see how it could be bettered. Mind you, I thought the same of “Pride and Prejudice” but there seem to be plenty of enlightened writers/directors out there who’ve thought otherwise…

Leave a Reply

